Honours go to 14 Winners at last night’s Engineering Excellence Awards

29 November 2014

NZEE Awards 2014 Supreme Awards winners receiving their Award on stage.Fourteen winners took home highly coveted awards at last night’s New Zealand Engineering Excellence Awards, held at the Pullman Hotel in Auckland. The Awards, running since 2005, celebrate outstanding leadership, innovation, and excellence in engineering projects, people and practice.

“It was a great night with such a high calibre of entries. It reminded us again just how well New Zealand’s engineering community deserves its world-leading reputation. The judges certainly had their work cut out for them,” Kieran Devine, interim Chief Executive of IPENZ, says. IPENZ is one of eight partner organisations hosting the awards.

The 14 winners were selected from a pool of 53 entries, covering everything from earthquake-resistant building design, sewerage, waste and water management, through to electricity supply and safety. There were some excellent examples blending engineering design with New Zealand’s cultural heritage.

“These are New Zealand’s premier engineering awards,” Panel Judge, Peter Higgs, says.

“This year’s entries included some outstanding examples of innovation and creativity in engineering projects and practice that are making a huge difference in the lives of countless New Zealanders – from innovations in the management of sewage and wastewater in Christchurch to a world-first in the use of redeveloped earthquake-resistant building technologies.”

The overall supreme award was given to the team behind the creation of Whangarei’s Te Matau ā Pohe bridge – which is only New Zealand’s second-ever bridge, and the first in 50 years, with a lifting mid-section to enable boats to pass underneath it. The design of the bridge incorporates the traditional Māori fish hook and takes its name from Wiremu Pohe, the Māori chief who greeted the first ever Europeans to visit the region.

“It was a pleasure to announce McConnell Dowell Constructors Ltd, Transfield Services, Novare Design Ltd, Gaia Engineers Ltd, Knight Architects, Eadon Consulting, Northern Civil Consulting and Whangarei District Council as the joint winners of the Supreme Award for their work on Te Mata ā Pohe. It’s a well-deserved accolade that we hope will also inspire others to continue to integrate excellence in design with New Zealand’s unique cultural identity and ingenuity,” Mr Higgs says. 

(Note: A table outlining the winners in each category is provided below).

1.     The correct title of the awards is: The New Zealand Engineering Excellence Awards.
2.     Award winners and finalists are available for interviews and photo opportunities on request. Contact Carl Billington, Event Media Advisor, to make arrangements: carl@inspiredlives.co.nz or 021 263 5508..

3.     The Awards are run by the Institution of Professional Engineers (IPENZ) on behalf of the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (IPWEA), Electricity Engineers’ Association (EEA), Association of Consulting Engineers New Zealand (ACENZ), Civil Contractors New Zealand, Water New Zealand and the New Zealand Council of Engineering Deans and the Cement and Concrete Association of New Zealand (CCANZ).

4.     Further information regarding the Awards, including an overview of each of the finalists  and videos featuring their work, is available at www.nzeeawards.org.nz

5. Photo above shows the team behind the Te Matau ā Pohe bridge receiving their awards. 

6.     The winners in each category are:


NZ Engineering Entrepreneur of the Year

Shaun and Grant Ryan

NZ Engineering Innovator of the Year

Gallagher Team: Craig Malins, Paul Reid, Keith Gallagher and Andrew Bealing

Young Engineer of the Year

Brendon Bradley

William Pickering Award for Engineering Leadership

Doug Heffernan


Building & Construction

Christchurch Airport Artesian Heating: Beca

Chemical Bio & Food

Darfield Milk Processing Plant: Fonterra Cooperative Group Ltd, GEA Process Engineering, Ebert Construction, Calder Stewart, Fulton Hogan and Babbage Consultants

Energy & Resources

High-Voltage Direct-Current Link   Pole 3: Aurecon NZ Ltd, Siemens NZ Ltd, Transpower NZ Ltd

Resource Efficient Design

Christchurch Bio Solids Drying Facility: Beca  

Transportation Infrastructure
+ Supreme Award for Engineering Excellence

Te Matau ā Pohe: McConnell Dowell Constructors Ltd, Transfield Services, Novare Design Ltd, Gaia Engineers Ltd, Knight Architects, Eadon Consulting, Northern Civil Consulting and Whangarei District Council

Wastewater & Amenities

Eastern Selwyn Sewerage Scheme: MWH New Zealand Ltd

Information, Communication, Electronic and Electrical Technology

Wellington Trolleybus Overhead Protection Project: Wellington Cable Car Limited, ProTechtion Consulting Ltd, Greater Wellington Regional Council and RCR Infrastructure – O’Donnell Griffin


Excellence in Community Engagement

Auckland Manukau Eastern Transport Initiative: Opus International

Excellence in Engineering for Safety

We’re Going Home Safely Every Day: Fonterra Cooperative Group Ltd, GEA Process Engineering (NZ) Ltd, Ebert Construction, Calder Stewart, Fulton Hogan and Babbage Consultants


Media enquiries contact:

Carl Billington, Event Media Advisor, on carl@inspiredlives.co.nz
or 021 263 5508.