NZEE Awards 2012 Winners Announced

The winners of the 2012 New Zealand Engineering Excellence Awards were announced on Friday 30 November at the Langham Hotel in Auckland. More than 450 guests attended the gala dinner including the Mayor of Auckland Len Brown, the Honourable Steven Joyce and Sir Peter Gluckman.

Photos of the event can be downloaded free of charge

2012 Media Releases - featuring our finalists and winners

Awards Recognising People:

William Pickering Award for Engineering Leadership
Sir William Gallagher

Sponsored by the IPENZ Foundation

New Zealand Engineering Entrepreneur of the Year
Hamish Kennedy (Compac Sorting Equipment)

Sponsored by Fulton Hogan

New Zealand Engineering Innovator of the Year
Richard Little and Robert Irving (Rex Bionics)

Sponsored by Industrial Research Ltd

New Zealand Young Engineer of the Year
Ben Hayward (Fulton Hogan)

Sponsored by URS New Zealand Ltd


Excellence in Engineering Practice:

Excellence in Engineering for Safety
KiwiRAP Star Ratings & KAT: The Development of a Proactive Road Safety Assessment Tool
NZ Transport Agency

Sponsored by McConnell Dowell

Excellence in Community Engagement
Rebuilding Kaiapoi: Engaging With Our Earthquake Affected Community
Waimakariri District Council

Sponsored by Auckland Council

Excellence in Environmental Practice
An Innovative Solution in Managing Road Stormwater Contaminants for Auckland Transport
GHD Limited and Auckland Transport

Sponsored by Meridian Energy Ltd

Project and Product Awards:

Supreme Award for New Zealand Engineering Excellence
New Lynn Rail Trench and Station
Fletcher Construction Company Ltd

Sponsored by Standards New Zealand

Building and Construction
Forsyth Barr Stadium
Sinclair Knight Merz

Sponsored by Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment

Energy and Resources
West Wind: Whole-of-business engineering approach delivers a world-class development
Meridian Energy Ltd

Sponsored by Electricity Engineers’ Association

Mechanical and Manufacturing
The Komodo: A platform technology for the mass production of nanofibre products
Revolution Fibres Ltd

Sponsored by Industrial Research Ltd

Chemical, Bio and Food
Com::pass predictive coagulation control
H2ope Ltd
Greater Wellington Regional Council
DCM Process Control Ltd

Transportation Infrastructure
New Lynn Rail Trench and Station
Fletcher Construction Company Ltd

Sponsored by the New Zealand Transport Agency

Water, Waste and Amenities
Hastings WWTP: A paradigm shift in wastewater planning and treatment
Hastings District Council

ICEET (Information, Communication, Electrical and Electronic Technology)
World Leading Milford and Knobs Flat Variable Message Signs (VMS)
NZ Transport Agency
Opus International Consultants
Aspect Solutions

For general enquiries, please contact or phone 04 474 8987.